Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai expanded his cabinet on Wednesday. (File Image, Photo Credit: India Tv)

29 ministers take oath in Karnataka’s new government

A week after taking oath as Karnataka’s Chief Minister, Basavaraj Bommai expanded his cabinet by inducting 29 ministers. The Bommai cabinet retained 23 ministers who were part of the B S Yediyurappa cabinet, while 6 new faces are included in the list of ministers who took oath on Wednesday.

Governor Thaawarchand Gehlot administered the oath of office to the new Ministers in the presence of Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai, during a ceremony presided over by chief Secretary P Ravi Kumar, The Indian Express reported.

Earlier in the day Bommai had rejected the suggestions that seniors will be kept away from the new cabinet. Bommai had maintained, “We need both experience and enthusiasm.”  

Bommai had also put to rest the speculations of Deputy chief minister by making it clear that there will be none in his cabinet.

He had hinted that the cabinet will be finalised taking under consideration 2023 Assembly election. He said, “We also need to deliver good governance immediately. The selection has been done accordingly.”

Bommai has completed one week as chief minister as he took oath alone last week. However he spent five days in New Delhi.

Leave a Reply

Physical Address

304 North Cardinal St.
Dorchester Center, MA 02124